Archive for October, 2013

Book Trailer Thursday: Chain Saw Confidential
By October 31, 2013 0 Comments Read More →

Book Trailer Thursday: Chain Saw Confidential

It’s hard to beat this trailer’s own opening line in order to intro it, so I won’t try. In lieu of a Booklist review, I have some “chainsaw shenanigans” to share with you on this dark and stormy Halloween. That sounds almost cute, doesn’t it? More trick-or-treating advice from BTT.

Posted in: Likely Stories, Movies, Video
Scary Tales Series by James Preller

Scary Tales Series by James Preller

Cindy: Ooooooh, children’s librarians are going to love having this new scary series to offer their younger readers. It’s not often that you find horror written for the emerging readers. I read the first book in the series, Home Sweet Horror (Feiwel and Friends 2013) and it is a thriller with heart. Take an 8-year-old […]

Book Blogging 101
By October 30, 2013 0 Comments Read More →

Book Blogging 101

Book Blogging 101 is a program that I developed for KCMLIN/MARRT in 2011, and updated for the New Jersey Library Association conference in 2012.  Well what do you know, it’s still a popular topic and Karen and I had the  chance to update it last week for the  Indiana Library Federation’s annual conference. Due to popular […]

Read This!
By October 30, 2013 0 Comments Read More →

Read This!

One of the ways to identify a true book lover is to find the person who secretly enjoys building up a much longer “to-read” list than time will possibly allow one to read. I know I’m talking to a fellow bibliophile when someone confesses loving the hunt for good books almost as much as the […]

Ol' Clip-Clop by Patricia C. McKissack

Ol' Clip-Clop by Patricia C. McKissack

Cindy: You know a story that begins in October on Friday the 13th is sure to be spooky and Ol’ Clip-Clop: A Ghost Story (Holiday House 2013) does not disappoint. John Leep had a stingy heart and no one among the three hundred people in Grass Hallow considered him a friend, least of which the […]

Of Magic and Mayhem

Of Magic and Mayhem

Scott Lynch’s eagerly-awaited third Gentleman Bastards fantasy novel The Republic of Thieves is delighting readers of all stripes. Recommend these other fantastic tales of derring-do for fans of these high-concept capers.    The Anvil of the World by Kage Baker Jhereg by Steven Brust The Philosophical Strangler by Eric Flint Swords and Deviltry by Fritz Leiber Lord […]

Tea & Conversation: Talking about Jane Austen

Tea & Conversation: Talking about Jane Austen

There are certain books that will never lose interest for book groups and Jane Austen’s works easily fall into that category. The beloved and layered characters, the intricate plots revolving around the social conventions of the times, the attention to detail regarding the differences in the classes, the witty dialogue which can deftly hide what […]

Meeting of Mystery, Pt. 2
By October 26, 2013 0 Comments Read More →

Meeting of Mystery, Pt. 2

Let me finish my report on some of the great books discussed in the Williamsburg Regional Library staff book group’s mystery meeting. The first half of the books were described here. Connie from Outreach Services began with the debut by Luke McCallin, The Man from Berlin. It’s a murder mystery set during WWII, with a […]

Web Crush of the Week: Go Book Yourself

Web Crush of the Week: Go Book Yourself

Check out this fun tumblr next time you’re searching for your next great read. From the folks who brought you Go Cook Yourself, Go Book Yourself  provides “Book recommendations by humans, because algorithms are so 1984.” Find read-alikes for Game of Thrones, The Fault in Our Stars, A Tale for the Time Being, and more.

Flappers and Button Men: Touring the World of "Dollface"
By October 25, 2013 0 Comments Read More →

Flappers and Button Men: Touring the World of "Dollface"

I don’t usually write about book launches, but then again, the most interesting thing I could say about most book launches is that a lot of people stood around drinking cheap wine from plastic cups and wondering why the cheese is always cut into those little cubes. Last night, however, I joined a group of […]