Archive for June, 2012

“Another Woman” by Penny Vincenzi

“Another Woman” by Penny Vincenzi

Penny Vincenzi is a popular author in her native Britain and for good reason—she writes the kind of semi-trashy, entertaining novels that are like bon-bons. In Another Woman, a bride disappears on the eve of her wedding night. And this is no small wedding—two wealthy doctor families with a lot of money to splash around […]

Posted in: book groups
He Listens She Listens

He Listens She Listens

Great audiobooks for guys & gals. Booklist magazine’s dynamic duo –  David Wright, Reader Services’ Librarian, Seattle (WA) Public Library and Kaite Mediatore Stover, Director, Readers’ Services, Kansas City (MO) Public Library – shared their favorite listens in the June Audiobook Showcase issue. Together, they team up to provide their fans with quirky, always interesting selections for […]

Posted in: audiobooks
Web Crush of the Week:  Eleventh Stack

Web Crush of the Week: Eleventh Stack

Eleventh Stack is the blog of the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh’s Main Branch, where you will find a varied group of librarians posting on books, media, and more.  Each of the contributors has  different reading interests and subject specialties. One of the things I like best about this blog is that they have a terrific […]

Posted in: Backlist, Libraries
Serendipity in the Stacks #21: Lottery

Serendipity in the Stacks #21: Lottery

Don’t let the sweet nature of this first novel fool you into thinking there’s not much to talk about. Patricia Wood’s debut, The Lottery is based on some personal experience and she’s done a great deal of research about lottery winners and life after winning. After readers get past the initial discussion about what life […]

Posted in: book groups
#JIAM 2012 Audies Awards

#JIAM 2012 Audies Awards

See & hear the audiobook gala hosted by Michael Showalter on Tuesday, June 5, 2012, at the New-York Historical Society in New York City. You can get an idea of the glittering fun by clicking this link to 213 photos from the Audies Awards 2012. It would be great if there was some way to tag the […]

Posted in: audiobooks, book awards
Book Trailer Thursday: Adaptation Anticipation

Book Trailer Thursday: Adaptation Anticipation

Consider this BTT a call to pre-”Read the Screen”: trailers have recently been released for film versions of beloved novels. Neither is due in theaters until later this year, giving faithful re-readers reason to pick them up anew and new readers plenty of time to find out where it all began. While this is certainly […]

My Cross To Bear

My Cross To Bear

The fun goes out of reading and discussing a biography when the person featured is someone of whom you have one image and then discover another.  In autobiography, especially today, it can get even worse.  Iconic heroes become, well, people.  And people have faults. For me this is no more evident than when I read […]

Posted in: book groups
Bird & Squirrel on the Run by James Burks

Bird & Squirrel on the Run by James Burks

Cindy: If you have tired of Angry Birds, grab Bird & Squirrel (Scholastic 2012) and follow the exploits of an exhuberant, consistently opptimistic bird and his paranoid squirrel friend. The two stars of this graphic novel will keep young readers laughing as one disaster after another befalls them on their journey south for the winter. Squirrel […]

Today’s video break: Dustin Hoffman & Nicole Kidman

Today’s video break: Dustin Hoffman & Nicole Kidman

Audiobooks by celebrities who love books #JIAM2012. Audible’s A-List series pairs star voices with classic books and tags the titles with “Hear Great Books Preformed by Hollywood’s Finest.” Two new videos highlight Hoffman’s reading of Being There by Jerzy Kosinski and Kidman’s narration of To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf. Enjoy the videos below!

Posted in: audiobooks
Dusty Book:  Land of the Living

Dusty Book: Land of the Living

Karen posted some readalikes for Gone Girl (best thing I’ve read so far this summer!) earlier this week, and  she mentioned a title by Nicci French.  I have to let you know about my favorite thriller of French’s. Land of the Living  is what I like to call a “roller-coaster” read. Whoosh! What do you […]

Posted in: Backlist