By April 19, 2012 1 Comments Read More →

Mystery Month Preview

May is Mystery Month at Booklist! For me, it’s one of the most exciting times of the year—and also one of the busiest. It’s only mid-April and I’m already wondering whether I’ve bitten off more than I can chew. But crime fiction never sleeps and neither do we. Here’s a sneak peek of what you can expect.

  • Our webinar, “The Murderous Month of May: Hot Mysteries for Spring” takes place Tuesday, April 24 at 1 p.m. If you haven’t registered, sign up now!
  • The May 1 print issue of Booklist, Mystery Showcase, mails . . . well, on May 1. (Seems appropriate, doesn’t it?) In addition to more than 150 reviews of new adult and youth mysteries in print and on audio, this issue will include:

May 1, 2012 Booklist cover - Mystery ShowcaseThe Year’s Best Crime Novels, by Bill Ott
A Hard-Boiled Gazetteer to Country Noir, by Bill Ott
One Foot in the Gutter: Literary Stars Turn to Crime, by Yours Truly
Mystery Writers Stalk the Children’s Room, by Ian Chipman
The Written Word, by Sara Paretsky
He Reads . . . Comic Mysteries, by David Wright
She Reads . . . Comic Mysteries, by Kaite Stover
Read-alikes: Young Sherlockians, by Ann Kelley
Top 10 Crime Fiction for Youth
Top 10 Crime Fiction Audiobooks
Voices in My Head: Dynamic Duos, by Mary Burkey

  • Look for all May 1 reviews and articles on Booklist Online starting May 2. We’ll also be publishing online-exclusive content, such as my interview with Ariel S. Winter, author of the remarkable debut novel The Twenty-Year Death. And I’ll be rolling out a multi-part survey, “Trends in Crime Fiction Series,” as the month goes on.
  • Starting May 1, visit the Booklist Facebook page for clues to our Mini-Mysteries: the first sleuth to identify each author wins a free copy of that author’s latest book!
  • REaD ALERT, our flagship e-newsletter, mails May 3 and will be all mystery, no filler.
  • Booklist Online Exclusives, mailing May 10, will have a mystery-themed author Q&A plus far more mystery reviews than usual.
  • The Booklist blogs will be chock-full of Mystery Month content. Likely Stories will profile mystery-themed publications (“If You Don’t Know Them, It’s a Crime”), we’ll put mystery writers in the hot seat (Hostile Questions), and editors will share quirky lists and offbeat articles. Watch Book Group Buzz, Shelf Renewal, Bookends, Audiobooker, and Points of Reference for weekly mystery posts, too.
  • We’ll be tweeting mystery news all month long using the hashtag #mysterymonth.
  • And maybe, just maybe, I’ll share another piece of original fiction in the tradition of “Reading Is My Business.”

Stay tuned for more . . .

Comments

comments

About the Author:

Keir Graff is the editor of Booklist Online and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix.

1 Comment on "Mystery Month Preview"

Trackback | Comments RSS Feed

  1. naomi.allen@state.ma.us' Naomi Allen says:

    I was looking at the murder mystery font that was used and it looked like the same font that is being used to advertise a play called Bloody, Bloody Andrew Jackson which is going to be playing in October (near Halloween) in Boston at the Calderwood Pavillion. They announced their new season over the weekend.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.