Overlooked Books: Betty Webb Recommends Emily St. John Mandel

Betty WebbIf you’ve been reading Likely Stories at all this month, then you know we’ve had a terrific lineup of mystery writers sharing some of their favorite overlooked books. Today we hear from Betty Webb, who writes about the Scottsdale, Arizona PI Lena Jones. Booklist reviewer Barbara Bibel called Desert Lost (2009) “a complex, exciting entry in a first-class series . . . an excellent read-alike for Sue Grafton fans.” Here’s Webb’s own rave:The Singer's Gun

It just kills me that not more people have read Emily St. John Mandel’s The Singer’s Gun (2010), which combines post-9/11 anxiety with an almost-religious mysticism. New York businessman Anton Walker was raised in a crime family and against his father’s wishes, is trying to stay honest. Just as Anton starts to enjoy life on the straight-and-narrow side of the street, he is blackmailed into committing a crime which alerts a federal terrorism task force. In this complex thriller, love, loyalty — even cats and straw hats — provide pathways to redemption.

Comments

comments

About the Author:

Keir Graff is the editor of Booklist Online and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.